Personalization Add or Remove Sign out in Account Picture Menu on Start Menu in Windows 11


  • Staff
Sign_out_banner.png

The account picture menu (aka: "user tile menu") on the Start menu allows you to Change account settings, Lock the computer, Sign out, or switch user.

If you like, you can completely remove Sign out in the account picture menu on the Start menu.

When you sign out of Windows, all your open windows and apps are closed, but the computer is not turned off. Another user can sign in without needing to restart the computer.

See also:

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove Sign out in the account picture menu on the Start menu for all users in Windows 10 and Windows 11.


You must be signed in as an administrator to add or remove Sign out in the account picture menu on the Start menu.

Removing Sign out from the account picture menu will not prevent users from using other methods to sign out.



EXAMPLE: Sign out in account picture menu on Start menu

Sign-out_in_account_picture_menu_on_Start_menu.jpg



Here's How:

1 Do step 2 (add) or step 3 (remove) below for what you want.

2 Add "Sign out" to Account Picture Menu on Start Menu

This is the default setting


A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.​

Add_Sign-out_to_account_picture_menu_on_Start_menu_for_all_users.reg


(Contents of REG file for reference)
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\PolicyManager\default\Start\HideSignOut]
"value"=dword:00000000

3 Remove "Sign out" from Account Picture Menu on Start Menu

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.​

Remove_Sign-out_from_account_picture_menu_on_Start_menu_for_all_users.reg


(Contents of REG file for reference)
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\PolicyManager\default\Start\HideSignOut]
"value"=dword:00000001

4 Save the REG file to your desktop.

5 Double click/tap on the downloaded REG file to merge it.

6 When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7 You can now delete the downloaded REG file if you like.


That's it,
Shawn Brink


 

Attachments

  • Sign_Out.png
    Sign_Out.png
    14 KB · Views: 9
  • Add_Sign-out_to_account_picture_menu_on_Start_menu_for_all_users.reg
    660 bytes · Views: 18
  • Remove_Sign-out_from_account_picture_menu_on_Start_menu_for_all_users.reg
    660 bytes · Views: 15
Last edited:
Top Bottom