Accounts Turn On or Off Remember Apps for Microsoft Account Across Windows 11 Devices


  • Staff
Apps_banner.png

When Windows backup is turned on, Windows backs up the settings you choose across all your Windows 10 and Windows 11 devices that you've signed in to with your Microsoft account.

If you turn on Remember my apps, Windows will remember the apps you have installed and help you restore them from Microsoft Store on your new devices. This setting is not available for work or school accounts, and Windows does not remember your apps for work or school accounts.

This tutorial will show you how to turn on or off Remember my apps for your Microsoft account across all your Windows 11 devices you sign in with the same Microsoft account.


To stop backing up your settings and remove them from the cloud, turn off Windows backup settings on all the devices connected to your Microsoft account. Once this is done, you'll need to remove these settings from your account. Here's how:

1) Go to account.microsoft.com/devices

2) At the bottom of the page, click/tap on the Clear stored settings link under Cloud synced settings.

Clear_stored_settings.png



EXAMPLE: Select to restore from device during clean install with Microsoft account

Restore_from.jpg



Here's How:

1 Open Settings (Win+I).

2 Click/tap on Accounts on the left side, and click/tap on Windows backup on the right side. (see screenshot below)

Open Backup Settings

Remember_my_apps-1.png

3 Turn on or off (default) Remember my apps for what you want. (see screenshots below)

Remember_my_apps-2.png
Remember_my_apps-3.png

4 You can now close Settings if you like.


That's it,
Shawn Brink


 

Attachments

  • Apps.png
    Apps.png
    10.8 KB · Views: 45
Last edited:

Latest Support Threads

Top Bottom