General Enable or Disable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog in Windows 11


  • Staff
Recyle_Bin_full_banner.png

The Recycle Bin provides a safety net when deleting files or folders. When you delete any of these items from a drive, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin and the Recycle Bin icon changes from empty to full.

If you have multiple hard drives, partitions, or an external hard drive connected to your PC, each drive will have its own hidden $Recycle.Bin system folder and Recycle Bin settings.

Removable drives, such as USB flash drives and memory cards, do not have a Recycle Bin by default. Files deleted from removable drives are permanently deleted since they do not go to the Recycle Bin. You can enable the Recycle Bin for removable drives to have deleted files from them go to the Recycle Bin instead.

Each user account on the PC will have their own separate Recycle Bin, and will be referenced by their Security Identifier (SID) in each drive's hidden $Recycle.Bin system folder.

By default, a delete confirmation dialog does not display when you delete a file or folder to the Recycle Bin.

If you delete a file or folder that's larger than the set maximum storage size of the drive's recycle bin, a This file is too big to recycle. Do you want to permanently delete it? confirmation dialog like below will always display.

File_too_large_Delete_confirmation_dialog.png

This tutorial will show you how to enable or disable display delete to the Recycle Bin confirmation dialog for your account or all users in Windows 10 and Windows 11.


Contents

  • Option One: Turn On or Off Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog for Current User in Recycle Bin Properties
  • Option Two: Enable or Disable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog for All or Specific Users in Local Group Policy Editor
  • Option Three: Enable or Disable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog for All Users using REG file


EXAMPLE: Delete to Recycle Bin confirmation dialog

Delete_confirmation_dialog-1.png





Option One

Turn On or Off Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog for Current User in Recycle Bin Properties


1 Right click on the Recycle Bin desktop icon, and click/tap on Properties. (see screenshot below)

Recyle_Bin_properties-1.png

2 Select a drive Recycle Bin Location you want to change. (see screenshot below)

3 Check (on) of uncheck (off - default) Display delete confirmation dialog for what you want.

4 Click/tap on OK.

Recyle_Bin_properties-2.png





Option Two

Enable or Disable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog for All or Specific Users in Local Group Policy Editor


You must be signed in as an administrator to use this option.

This option will apply to all drives with a Recycle Bin.

The Local Group Policy Editor is only available in the Windows 10/11 Pro, Enterprise, and Education editions.

All editions can use Option Three to configure the same policy.


1 Open the all users, specific users or groups, or all users except administrators Local Group Policy Editor for how you want this policy applied.

2 Navigate to the policy location below in the left pane of the Local Group Policy Editor. (see screenshot below)

User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer

Delete_confirmation_dialog_gpedit-1.png

3 In the right pane of File Explorer in the Local Group Policy Editor, double click/tap on the Display confirmation dialog when deleting files policy to edit it. (see screenshot above)

4 Do step 5 (enable) or step 6 (default) below for what you want.

5 Always Enable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog

This will override and prevent using Option One.


A) Select (dot) Enabled, click/tap on OK, and go to step 7. (see screenshot below)​

Delete_confirmation_dialog_gpedit-3.png

6 Default Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog

This is the default setting to allow using Option One.


A) Select (dot) Not Configured, click/tap on OK, and go to step 7. (see screenshot below)​

Delete_confirmation_dialog_gpedit-2.png

7 You can now close the Local Group Policy Editor if you like.




Option Three

Enable or Disable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog for All Users using REG file


You must be signed in as an administrator to use this option.

This option will apply to all drives with a Recycle Bin.


1 Do step 2 (enable) or step 3 (default) below for what you want.

2 Always Enable Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog

This will override and prevent using Option One.


A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.​

Always_enable_delete_confirmation_dialog_for_all_users.reg


(Contents of REG file for reference)
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"ConfirmFileDelete"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"ConfirmFileDelete"=dword:00000001

3 Default Delete to Recycle Bin Confirmation Dialog

This is the default setting to allow using Option One.


A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.​

Default_user_choice_delete_confirmation_dialog_for_all_users.reg


(Contents of REG file for reference)
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"ConfirmFileDelete"=-

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"ConfirmFileDelete"=-

4 Save the REG file to your desktop.

5 Double click/tap on the downloaded REG file to merge it.

6 When prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7 Either restart the explorer process, sign out and sign in, or restart the computer to apply.

8 You can now delete the downloaded REG file if you like.


That's it,
Shawn Brink


 

Attachments

  • Recyle_Bin_full.png
    Recyle_Bin_full.png
    12.6 KB · Views: 11
  • Always_enable_delete_confirmation_dialog_for_all_users.reg
    926 bytes · Views: 29
  • Default_user_choice_delete_confirmation_dialog_for_all_users.reg
    874 bytes · Views: 29
Last edited:

Latest Support Threads

Top Bottom