Apps Stop Sharing Copilot Prompts


Copilot_new_header.webp

This tutorial will show you how to stop sharing a Copilot prompt link in Copilot in Microsoft Edge, on the web, and app in Windows 11.

The Microsoft Copilot app is your AI app for work. Copilot connects to the Microsoft 365 apps and content you use every day, creates polished documents, spreadsheets, and presentations, gets things done with Cowork, lets you choose between leading AI models, understands your job and company through Work IQ, and keeps your data protected.

When you sign in to Copilot, your experience adapts to your account: a licensed work-or-school experience with enterprise data protection, or a personal experience for individuals, with or without a Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, or Premium subscription.

Copilot prompts are instructions or questions you use to tell Copilot what you want. Prompts can include four parts:
  • Goal: What do you want Copilot to do?
  • Context: Why do you need it, and who is involved?
  • Source: What information or samples should Copilot use? Depending on your account, this could be a file you attach, a web page, or your work emails, chats, and files.
  • Expectations: How should Copilot respond?
You can put a little or a lot into a prompt, but all that's required is a clear goal. If you want to be more specific, add the other parts. You'll often need to include more than a goal to get the results you want.

When you create a prompt in Copilot, you can save the prompt to the Copilot Prompt Gallery. You can view and share saved prompts from the Copilot Prompt Gallery.

When you share a saved prompt, a URL link of the prompt is copied into the clipboard. The shared link will open the prompt in a Copilot chat to be able to send it again for another response.

When you stop sharing a prompt link, it will revoke the shared link so it's no longer valid to share.

References:



Contents

  • Option One: Stop Sharing Copilot Prompt in Windows 11 and Web
  • Option Two: Stop Sharing Copilot Prompt in Microsoft Edge




Option One

Stop Sharing Copilot Prompt in Windows 11 and Web


1 Open the copilot.com site or Copilot app on Windows 11.

2 Sign in to Copilot with your Microsoft account if not already.

3 Open Copilot Chat settings.

4 Click/tap on Data Controls in Chat settings. (see screenshot below step 5)

5 Click/tap on the Manage button for Shared prompts. (see screenshot below)

Unshare_Copilot_Prompts-1.webp

6 Click/tap on the Stop sharing button to the right of a shared prompt you want to stop sharing. (see screenshot below)

Unshare_Copilot_Prompts-2.webp




Option Two

Stop Sharing Copilot Prompt in Microsoft Edge


1 Open Microsoft Edge.

2 Sign in to Microsoft Edge with your Microsoft account if not already.

3 Open Copilot Chat settings.

4 Click/tap on Data Controls in Chat settings. (see screenshot below)

Unshare_Copilot_Prompts_Edge-1.webp

5 Click/tap on the Manage button for Shared prompts. (see screenshot below)

Unshare_Copilot_Prompts_Edge-2.webp

6 Click/tap on the Stop sharing button to the right of a shared prompt you want to stop sharing. (see screenshot below)

Unshare_Copilot_Prompts_Edge-3.webp


That's it,
Shawn Brink


 

Latest Tutorials

Back
Top Bottom