This tutorial will show you how to remove someone from your Microsoft Family Group in Windows 10 and Windows 11.
A family group is a set of individuals connected through the Microsoft Family Safety app on their Windows 10, Windows 11, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, or Android and iOS mobile devices. Establishing a family group is an easy, effective way to encourage healthy online habits and manage busy schedules.
After creating a family group, explore Microsoft Family Safety features and benefits by adding family members.
In Microsoft Family Safety, two separate roles distinguish individuals in a family group: organizer and member.
There are several different ways for family members and organizers to leave or be removed from a Microsoft family group depending on their role.
Before leaving, family members and organizers should remove saved places and location alerts they would not like to remain in the group. Location alerts must be removed by the individual who set them for saved places to be deleted. Leaving or being removed from a family group will not delete Microsoft accounts.
Only organizers of a family group can remove family members.
Only the adult who granted consent can remove a child account from the family group. If the adult cannot access their account, the adult or appropriate guardian should attempt to recover the adult account.
Family groups without an organizer and at least one other family member will be deleted.
Perform one of the following actions:
Click/tap on the 3 dots button on the member you want to remove from your family group, and click/tap on Remove from family group. (see screenshot below)
Click/tap on Remove to confirm. (see screenshot below)
Organizers in the family group and the person you removed will get an email to notify of the removal. (see screenshots below)